The Celtic Football Club – The Origin and Fame

The Celtic Football Club is playing in the Scottish Premiership, and they are based in Glasgow, Scotland. The team was founded in early 1887, having its first match in May 1888. They had a friendly match against the Rangers back then, which gave them their first win with a score of 5-2.

The Purpose and Rise To Fame

The club was founded having in mind the alleviation of poverty in the East End of Glasgow among the immigrant Irish population. Despite being a new team then, the Celtic Foo1280px-Celtic_celebrate_a_goaltball Club won six consecutive league titles during the first decade of 20th century alone.

Their biggest break, however, came in the 1960s and 1970s, when the team was lead by Jock Stein. This was when the Celtic Football Club won nine consecutive league titles plus the European Cup. Definitely, they became among the best football teams in the history of this sport.

Recent Wins and Successes

The Celtic Football Club won the Scottish League Championship 47 times, more recently during the 2015-2016 season. In addition, they also won the Scottish Cup 36 times, and the Scottish League Cup 16 times. Back in the 1966-67 season, they were also the first ever UK team to win the European Cup.

That same year, the Celtic Football Club also won the Scottish Cup, Scottish League Championship, the Glasgow Cup, and the Scottish League Cup. The 1966-67 was a breakthrough year for the team.

Rivalries and Fan Bases

The Rangers have been the longest-standing rival of the Celtic Football Club. The two teams dominated the Scottish football scene as early as the 1890s. Together, they have won 101 league titles combined.

There are an estimated nine million Celtic Football Club fans worldwide, with about 160 Celtic supporter clubs in more than 20 countries. To appreciate the numbers even more, about 80,000 fans even traveled to Seville for the 2003 UEFA Cup Final to support the team in that occasion.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *